h1

Nero Burning Rage

April 8, 2007

Vista busy cursor If I took what Vista told me at face value I would not have succeeded in installing Nero 6 for CD and DVD burning.

Burning Rage

That damn liar of an OS just flat told me Nero 6 would not run under Vista! No maybe about it. No helpful hints. Just, like, well, forget it!

However, Nero Burning Rom 6 (I’m using version 6.6.0.18) does install on Vista and works just fine [UPDATE 29/8/2007 but there are still problems – see here] … but I’d never have got there if I had not been somewhat persistent. I was not going to be deterred that easily by Vista’s lack of enthusiasm.

I guess that many people who are users of software like Nero will be used to Googling for answers when things don’t seem to work first time. But there will, I’m sure, be people who just need the software to work but have neither the ease with computers nor the patience to take time looking for a free fix. They will end up spending their hard-earned cash quite unnecessarily on a more up to date version.

For anyone interested, I ran the install program under the administrator account and then, under the properties for the executable file, set to XP SP2 compatibility mode. I ignored all messages from Vista about incompatibility and its feeble “Windows is looking for a solution to your problem …” pop-ups.

It has never found a solution to anything yet. Microsoft would do better to hard-code the text to read “Windows is looking for a solution … ah, got it! Install XP! Hasta la vista, Vista!”

Probably still the best option.

Incidentally, casual Googling might well lead you to believe you do need Nero 7 for Vista compatibility. For example see here, here and here.

The latter link does contain some helpful comments. In short, Nero 6 is not officially supported on Vista but does work fine for most things if you use compatibility mode and and ignore the “it won’t work” popups when you install it.

8 comments

  1. you love this? for more detail for less


  2. Eureka, I found a way to make Nero 6 work on Vista 100%, including all image packages. Step 1 – Follow the instruction as mentioned above “”For anyone interested, I ran the install program under the administrator account and then, under the properties for the executable file, set to XP SP2 compatibility mode. I ignored all messages from Vista about incompatibility and its feeble “Windows is looking for a solution to your problem …” pop-ups.”” Step 2 – Find Nero 5 MSA.dll (2002-07-01)driver and replace it with Nero 6 MSA.dll driver under “C:\Program Files\Common Files\Ahead\AudioPlugins”. That will stop any warnings from Vista & use Nero 6 as normal. That’s it.


  3. you said: “messages from Vista about incompatibility and its feeble “Windows is looking for a solution to your problem …” pop-ups.”

    In a world of greater honesty those pop-ups would read “Vista is looking for a way to access your pocketbook.”


  4. UPDATE: I am no longer convinced Nero 6 is worth persevering with under Vista. It installs but does not in general work correctly. I have at least found an alternative at no cost that works reliably in Vista – see here.


    • I tried your solution img burner (imgburn.com) and it works brilliantly. Just burnt a dvd in record time and it works on my dvd player,( but not on Vista).
      Thanks for the solution!
      Up yours Vista!
      Jason O’Dwyer


  5. I’ve so far stayed away from 64-bit Vista. More security but even less compatibility. It’s no wonder take-up is so poor, other than by people with compelling reason to use large amounts of RAM.


  6. doesn’t work on vista x64;
    it’s giving me headaces.


  7. Oh good, thanks! 🙂

    I suspected that it would probably work but didn’t feel like diving in without some reassurance – and you provided it.



Leave a comment